PDA

View Full Version : How to Start Career in Airport Ops or Airline Ops?

Brian21156
21st Aug 2006, 17:26
I am looking for some advice on a possible career change. I am currently in IT Support, I have a degree, 2 yrs work experience and Microsoft exams. At the moment my career seems to be going nowhere and I have lost interest in IT. I am considering leaving IT and looking for something in aviation. I have had an interest in aviation for some time. I cannot become a pilot so has anybody got any ideas on how to get Airport Operations or Airline Operations jobs? I am open to any suggestions. I have no problem if I have to start at the bottom and work my way up. I am currently based in Ireland but have no commitments so I can move if necessary. Would it be worthwhile doing a Masters in Airport Management and Planning at Cranfield University first or should I get some experience before I do a Masters.

LOOP2STAND1
21st Aug 2006, 17:57
Airfield Operations is a great job. I did around 2 years at London City Airport while studying for my fATPL. Generally all OPS positions were recruited from within the company however, on ocasion we took direct entry external aplicants. I started at City as a part-time security officer and then applied for an ops position when one became available. LCY use REED employment for new hires.

http://www.londoncityairport.com/index.php?page=recruitment

WindSheer
22nd Aug 2006, 13:19
Getting a job as a dispatcher or similar is not the most difficult, but a job wihin an actual airline ops dept is a bit more hard to come by.

It comes down to the old two tips, who you know and being in the right place at the right time!

All the best!

Wodka
23rd Aug 2006, 20:24
I suggest go in as cabin crew ... gets you in the door and once your in you can make contacts and find out about internal jobs easily.

plus it looks good when going for another job - ie you know the setup, routes and you have been on the line

OpsSix
25th Aug 2006, 08:12