PDA

View Full Version : Frequencies-SMC vs SMC(V)

helopat
3rd Aug 2006, 12:44
Little background first...

At a military airfield where 'this friend of mine' works there is a surface movements frequency (SMC) and a separate surface movements frequency for vehicles (SMC(V)). The policy of the Air Traffikers at this military airfield (or so my friend tells me) is to operate with SMC and SMC(V) in retransmit mode (ie. pilots hear vehicles and vice versa, which 'my friend' finds very distracting as a pilot).

At the risk of bringing down the wrath of ATCers, my question is: should the two frequencies be retransmitted (ie. a pilot taxiing hears all the vehicle movement requests around the field and vice versa) or should the two frequencies be operated independently. As a pilot I (er, I mean, my friend)(perhaps selfishly) feels that the danger of the SMC(V) radio chatter being retransmitted on the SMC frequency is potentially dangerous for aircrew, especially in a training environment. The Air Traffikers contend that this setup to helps everyone maintain better Situational Awareness and are only willing to deselect retrans in case of aircraft emergencies.

Anyone want to weigh in on this relatively minor issue?

Thanks.

Standard Noise
3rd Aug 2006, 12:46
Don't suppose the cross coupling could be set up so the vehicles can hear the aircraft, but not the other way round? Works for me.

VATCO
3rd Aug 2006, 22:00
Must agree at most airfields I have worked at a cross coupling is used so that vehicles can hear aircraft but unless full cross coupling is selected then aircraft should not hear the vehicles. This system works well and keeps the vehicles aware of aircraft movements without distracting the pilots.

vintage ATCO
4th Aug 2006, 07:35
Hmmmm, an interloper . . . . . :}

We operate with the GMC frequencies part cross-coupled, vehicles hear acft but not vice-versa, but the AIR frequencies fully cross-coupled so everyone hears everything that's going on around the runway.