PDA

View Full Version : Complying with ATC

supernova.surfer
1st Aug 2006, 16:11
Hi ..i have a newbie question...what are the grounds/cases (if any) that a pilot can refuse/not abide by a ATC instruction ? when in controlled Airspace , assuming that it is NOT a call/decision made in view of aircraft safety by the pilot ..example...
1. in case of navigation instructions
2. acceptance of SID/DP clearance

....pardon my ignorance but i'm a absolute novice ...thanks

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
1st Aug 2006, 18:54
I guess if the aeroplane cannot, for operational reasons, meet a particular clearance. Eg performance of the aircraft reduced for some reason, or pilot not qualified to fly in particular weather?

Don't recall ever experiencing such a situation in 35 odd years in ATC so can't really offer much more.

Loki
1st Aug 2006, 19:06
I have had a few occasions (all concerning weather) where heading instructions were very politely declined....alternatives being negotiated amicably.

supernova.surfer
1st Aug 2006, 20:38
Hi ,
thanks for the replies ,ok lemme put it another way , if it is'nt a safety /operational /aircraft performance issue ,can a pilot refuse to comply ? (at his peril) ..what does the law say ..i guess thats what i was meaning to ask.....

Married a Canadian
2nd Aug 2006, 02:08
I can't see any reason a pilot would not take an air traffic instruction if it didn't infringe on "safety, operational or aircraft performance issues"
That is the whole point of controlled airspace...and I think the pilots know it aswell...at least I hope they do. The clue is in our job title..."controller"....not "advisor"