View Full Version : Flight Engineer

Stefan87
31st Jul 2006, 12:25
Hello,

I am an aeronautical maintenance engineer student and i want to become a flight engineer. Can somebody teel me something about that job and how to become one?

Thanks, Stefan

AVIONIQUE
31st Jul 2006, 14:28
first get in a time machine and travel back in time a couple of decades.You may be surprised to hear that very few a/c types now fly that have flight engineers,it would certainly be an odd choice of career start.These days you are considered lucky if you get an engineer on the ground!

Stefan87
31st Jul 2006, 19:15
I know a small number of aircraft flying around with FE's. You got the cargo airlines in the states en NWA with there DC-10's but i don't think it's impossible.
It's not very hard to get a job on the ground aswell. KLM is taking loads of guys from my school every year.

oligoe
13th Aug 2006, 17:05
Hello Stefan,

I was thinking the same than you as I finished my engineer apprenticeship.

There are 2 ways on doing the basic training :

Faa :
With 3 years working on aircrafts above 800hp you can do the FEX (FAA flight engineer written exam) at any FAA test center (plenty of them around in Europe).
Then you need 5 hours training at a flight engineer station (on a non revenu flight) and finally a type rating and line training.

1 st problem is, nowhere you will find any company or school giving this 5 hours panel training.
2 nd problem is, even I you can find a lot of school selling type ratings, you will need a FAA commercial IFR licence to attend the course as these are not for PFE (professional flight engineers).
Because with an FAA CPL IR you can go straight to FEX exam followed by a FE type rating.
In the US most of the flight engineer jobs for beginers are actually for pilots waiting to be upgraded as F/O.
PFE jobs are very rare.
You need to be American or hold a green card if you want to work in the US.

JAA :