PDA

View Full Version : ANA or JAL?

Aliyyah
28th Jul 2006, 19:06
Hi everyone,

I applied for both airlines, All Nippon Airways and Japan Airlines. Now I got from both an invitation to attend their interview in Frankfurt. What do you think, which airline is better? I mean who has better working conditions and so on?
Thanks for your help!

Aliyyah

Dreaming for VS
31st Jul 2006, 14:26
Hi! I am from HK.
I worked as a crew in a local airline, Cathay Pacific, which you may probably never hear before... hehehe^_^

FOr your question, I don't know ANA.
But, I know quite a lot about JAL, many Cathay crews are from JAL.

JAL is a national airline. They are more traditional.
For benefits, it's a bit stinky.
You'll have FOC every year, but as an ID pax, you will have no meal.
You'll have 10% tickets, but you have to fly for several miles to get it!
WHen Japanese crews got profit sharing twice a year, Chinese crews got only once a year... I am not sure whether they are more generous to German.

Seniority is an important issue. Chinese though different, as one of JAL crews, Chinese more or less, had to follow the rules.
Courtesy like, holding the lift for all seniors until everyone gets in the lift, you will say "DO ZO" "DO ZO"=please to show your courtesy.
INflight meal, let's seniors choose and eat first, even if you are as hungry as they are.
You will be asked you stay in the galley to set up all food cart for service, and you will help in every sections which are not yet finished. You will be busy as a junior, extra busy.
BUT... may be German, as non-Asian, are not supposed to follow. :D I wish you don't have to.

erm... am I sound so negative? I am, sorry! I wish, someone would tell me I am absolutely wrong.

Anyway, hope these information help you a bit.

Aliyyah
4th Aug 2006, 09:46