PDA

View Full Version : The lunatics are still running the asylum!

makintw
27th Jul 2006, 12:05
Anyone hear the Jeremy Vine show today?

Shopkeeper in Bournemouth told by plod that he may be infringing the human rights of shoplifters by publicly displaying CCTV pictures of them “on the job”

None prosecuted

:ugh:

AcroChik
27th Jul 2006, 13:46
I think that, here in the States, we would call this a civil rights issue.

The rationale would, I believe, work this way:

A person has been accused yet not been tried and convicted of a crime. Due process of law has, thus, not been exercised. The public display of them in the supposed act would be seen as a defamation of character (and other stuff ~ I'm not a lawyer). Until due process of law has been followed, the accused may be innocent.

G-CPTN
27th Jul 2006, 13:50
In addition, in the UK, the display of 'evidence' prior to a trial can be seen as prejudicial. Cases have been dismissed as "the accused is being denied a fair trial".

Chesty Morgan
27th Jul 2006, 13:59
But if people had more faith in the legal system here there wouldn't be any need for a pre trial public shaming.

I think this is a case of the shop owner serving up his own kind of justice as he probably believes that a succesful trial, read 'in his favour', wouldn't happen.

Don't even get me started on human/civil rights. This has probably come up on here before but did Tony Martin have any human rights when he was nicked for defending his home.

If these criminals are willing to put themselves in danger, agreed an unquantifiable outcome, they should be willing to reap the consequences. After all they quite happily reap the rewards!

An Englishmans home/caravan/shop is his castle.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!
27th Jul 2006, 14:20
Don't even get me started on human/civil rights.Then why don't you go and live in Iran or North Korea or Soviet Russia?

Are you really Sadaam Hussein?

Chesty Morgan
27th Jul 2006, 14:52
Are you really Sadaam Hussein?

No I'm not! :p