PDA

View Full Version : Mossie pilot query (.....a long shot!!!)

kevmusic
26th Jul 2006, 13:51
Hi all,

Many, many years ago, I read a book about the Mosquito. In it was a photo of a composer/Mosquito pilot whose name I can't remember. Now the Mossie happens to be one of my absolute fave aeroplanes; I am a musician, and I compose, so I'm very curious to find out a little more about this chap. The photo wasn't expanded on in the text so I have no other details.

Sorry I can't be any more specific - over to you, the bookworms!

Hope you can help; TIA

Kev. :ok:

ORAC
26th Jul 2006, 14:07
John De Lacey Wooldridge (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Wooldridge) :cool:

Unlike Allied heavy and medium bomber crews, Mosquito men routinely operated in daylight at extremely low altitudes. They used this tactic to minimize exposure to anti-aircraft defenses and to insure precise accuracy during bombing and strafing attacks. For their trouble, they experienced a sweeping, personal view of the war in Europe that was not available to any other group of combatants. Wing Commander John Wooldridge, writing in his book "Low Attack," summed up the experience this way: