PDA

View Full Version : Views on air taxi business

giftofwings
10th Jul 2006, 01:28
I'm new to everything in aviation, but I've had a look around and this seems the best forum for this topic. I'd like to explore the possibility of starting an air-taxi business in europe and would like to have opinions as to how practical and profitable that may be. I have capital, enthusiasm, and time; but little knowledge of aviation.

What do you think? Can one find a market with one or two aircraft? Is it possible to compete with NetJet. Is there money to be made? Where to operate? Interested in co-operating?

Looooong haul
10th Jul 2006, 08:49
I'm new to everything in aviation, but I've had a look around and this seems the best forum for this topic. I'd like to explore the possibility of starting an air-taxi business in europe and would like to have opinions as to how practical and profitable that may be. I have capital, enthusiasm, and time; but little knowledge of aviation.

What do you think? Can one find a market with one or two aircraft? Is it possible to compete with NetJet. Is there money to be made? Where to operate? Interested in co-operating?

Lets start with your first question: is it profitable? N. Why not? Because every few months somebody who made money in an other business buys an aircraft and starts operating. They find out that they do not get the business as the brokers take him for a ride and start lowering the price... The brokers still say the price is too high so another price reduction.. It is getting critical now and the company is happy to accept any rate that will pay for the DOC's of the operation... the cost of depreciating the aircraft is forgotten for a few months (he hopes) The person who started or funded the company is now getting p!ssed off as in his previous life he was making money and now he is loosing it big time... After a frusterating two 2 years he is getting out, another aircraft back on the market and a few unemployed pilots....