PDA

View Full Version : Underwater escape courses

BroomstickPilot
30th Jun 2006, 07:49
Hi Guys,

I'm a private pilot flying fixed wing, but I think my question might be best answered by the rotary wing community, especially those engaged on search and rescue or North Sea oil industry operations, so I hope you will forgive me invading your territory on PPrune.

I have just been given a brochure for an underwater escape course from an outfit called Andark, based at Southampton.

What they offer, in a one day underwater escape course, is a flat ditch, a submerged exit, and finally an inverted submerged escape drill.

Does anybody please know anything about their courses?

Do you please have any other advice?

Broomstick.

verticalhold
30th Jun 2006, 08:27
Never been to Andark, but I've heard good reports. If you fly over water its a good idea. Personally I always enjoyed the dunker and one day it might give you one of those little pieces of knowledge which save lives but often are just stored in the memory and never used.

Droopystop
30th Jun 2006, 09:31
I have not done the Andark course, but done several in Aberdeen, both as pilot and offshore worker.

The three scenarios are:
Flat Ditch: Simulator is lowered onto the surface and you step out into life raft/ water through a door.
Submerged exit: Simulator lowered so that your head is underwater. You then have to exit through the window/ remove window and exit
Full inversion: As above but you have to wait until you have stopped moving.

One of the simulators in Aberdeen can be fitted with a variety of cockpit doors appropriate to the aircraft type flown (OK two different types of helicopter), but any door is a useful addition to the training.

IME, the courses are well run and there will be a number of safety divers around. They do not assume you can swim and are very sympathetic to those nervous in the water. You might be surprised how many people who work offshore who are terrified of water and helicopters!