PDA

View Full Version : Phase Angle - What is it??

gwelo shamwari
19th Jun 2006, 01:20
Listening in on a ground lesson where a instructor was talking about phase angle. He said that it the rotor system on a helicopter was not a true gyro because it did not spin quickly enough, hence it did not precess at 90 degrees. He said that in the S300 phase angle was approximately 78 degrees.

Is there a certain "RPM" that a spinning object becomes a true gyro?

I read somewhere online that phase angle had to do with flapping, I looked at my books but can't find anything. When I brought this up he look puzzled and said that he would get back to me, but still has not.

Could someone please explain this to me simply and then in detail, as I am only starting out and would like to get the basic's now then more detail later.

thanx
Zulu

Heli-Ice
19th Jun 2006, 01:34
TGZ

Thank you for the info... I didn't know I had a phase angle in my H300 :rolleyes:

Basic helicopter theory= It'll cost you loadza money... the heli pilot license that is...

The Rotordog
19th Jun 2006, 01:47
Oh, life used to be so simple. In the good old days, we had this thing called "gyroscopic precession" and we used that term to describe how you had to put the pitch-change in back *here* to get the rotorblades to react up *there*. We said that the rotor's largest displacement happened "90 degrees" beyond the point at which we made the control input. We had all played with gyroscopes as children, so this simple analogy sufficed to explain how a helicopter rotor worked. It still does.

But then some egghead engineers came along and said, in effect, "Whoa, wait a minute."

In a "real" gyroscope, they say, the rotor is fixed solidly to the axle. And in a "real" gyroscope, the reaction actually is 90 degrees beyond where we put in the force. You can measure it, supposedly.