PDA

View Full Version : is age 33 to old in Europe??????

vela3
4th May 2001, 10:26
I'm a pilot in the usa... but I'm at a loss for giving advice to a German friend of mine... He is 33 and has his ppl... He would like to fly but before making any large investment he would like some idea of the hiring practices in Europe... I would have no problem for telling him he would find a job in the states.. but as for how things are in Europe... I have no idea.. if he does continue .... study in england?? or where is the best bet.. ie is the caa license still the one to have.. or with the new jar is it all the same for him... Thanks in advance for any response and help...
Scott

Iz
4th May 2001, 10:34
If he has a work permit for the US, it might be feasible, but chances are slim at 33, if your goal is to work for a major airline.

The programs that place you on an airline jet in a short amount of time are only for people usually younger than 26, so he'd have to do it all himself. So add at least another year and then he's 24 years old with very low flight time.

Airlines that do take low-timers, usually want them in their early 20s, and there's a large group of 30-year olds with thousands of hours in their logbooks already.

So if he can use the States as a back-up, it might be a worthwile decision, if not, it would require some deep thinking.

Anybody else with some valuable insight?

Genghis McCann
4th May 2001, 13:13
I must disagree with the above post. 33 is no problems at all. I got my first commercial job at 36 and I am now a training captain with a small regional. I am just about to do line training with a guy who is getting his first commercial job and he is 43! I know of several similar stories.