PDA

View Full Version : Instrument Rating Drift Allowances???

novicef
12th Jun 2006, 03:29
I am studying for my IREX and I was just wondering if there were any rules not laid down in the books that would allow for wind in the holding pattern.

I asked some of the new IR graduates and they didn’t seem to know of any, however one of the older instructors mentioned 3 times the drift for a 1 min pattern and he thought it was 2 times the drift for a 2 min pattern. He also said there was a rule for the 80degree procedure turn whereby you held that heading for so many seconds but he could not recall how long.

Are there any from the old school who know of these rules?

Gear in transit
12th Jun 2006, 04:34
There's lots. But whatever you do just make sure you have at least ONE technique! There's nothing worse than watching a poor old candidate who has no idea on wind allowance and makes a botch of it.... :ugh:

I personally use 2 times the drift outbound in the holding pattern, and 1sec per knot per minute for approach in a headwind, 1/2 second for tailwinds. Works reasonably well.

Make sure you pic something that you UNDERSTAND and even more importantly can APPLY it!

Capt Claret
12th Jun 2006, 06:24
novicef

He also said there was a rule for the 80degree procedure turn whereby you held that heading for so many seconds but he could not recall how long.

From Jeppesen/Terminal/AU-20/3.9.2

a. Procedure Turn (45°/180°) Consisting of a specified track & timing from the facility or fix, a 45° turn away from the outbound track for 1 minute from the start of the turn for categories A and B aircraft (1 minute 15 seconds for categories C, D and E aircraft), ....

As for drift in a holding pattern, I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I've had to hold for real. Finding that I rarely knew the actual wind to apply a rule of thumb I'd apply what seemed reasonable, and when turning inbound assess how the outbound drift went.