PDA

View Full Version : check in staff

lee19
6th Jun 2006, 16:36
hi everybody, i am currently a student studying travel and tourism..i am finding it very hard to find information on the roles and responsibilities of the following:

check-in staff
security
retail staff in an airport
ticketing staffany information for these would be very much appricated. asap would be great as i need the information before thursday 8/6/06

thank you very much
leanne mc kenna

aw8565
6th Jun 2006, 17:58
Nothing like leaving it till the last minute...!

As an ex check-in agent for well known unpopular ground handling company I hope I can help a little in this respect. Essentially you'll start you're shift on a checkin desk. It varies between airlines but you'll have a computer through which you check-in passengers. It's like filling in a register I guess. You can bring up a seat map of the aircraft on the screen and you assign the seats from there, trying to keep everone happy, keeping families and couples sat with each other and window seats etc.

You need to make sure they have their correct tickets, although many scheduled carriers are using electronic ticketing, which, as long as you IDENTIFY the passenger correctly(!) can save a lot of paperwork. The agent must ensure that passports are in order, that Visa requirements are satisfied etc. Information on this can be brought up in some computers or in the 'TIM', a big book that says who can and can't go where with which visas... makes a gripping read... However, if you did send someone somewhere and they were denied access due to a problem you should have picked up, the company will be fined. And you'll know about it...