PDA

View Full Version : A few technical questions ... any input?

Mach75
30th May 2006, 05:24
Hey guys, I'm studying hard for my upcoming interview but I have a few questions that I'm having trouble answering. Any input would be greatly appreciated:

1) Can someone please outline the de-ice/anti-ice systems used on the 747?

2) I know that carbon brakes wear more when they're cold but can anyone tell me why?

airamerica
30th May 2006, 08:42
''Can someone please outline the de-ice/anti-ice systems used on the747? ''
If you are not rated on the 747 how are you supposed to know that?
On the other hand by speculating.

NoseGear
30th May 2006, 09:55
The de-ice/anti-ice is both electric, for windows and probes and bleed air for the leading edges and cowls.

Can't remember why they wear more cold, but they definately work better when warm, its the number of applications that is the main differing feature with the carbon brakes.

Good luck with the interview

Nosey

extreme P
30th May 2006, 14:08
Question
I am a 50 year old airline pilot. My dilemma:
I fly the B767 and B757 series aircraft, the
B767s are equipped with carbon fiber brakes, and the company manual says that the brakes wear less when they are hotter, therefore we should use more brake pressure rather than less. Specifically, we use a higher lever of autobrakes.
I would like to understand this phenomenon. I know that you work for free, but the more detail the better.
Thanks in advance.

Carbon fiber-based brakes are made out of so-called carbon-carbon composite material that consists of two components: weaved carbon cloth and solid carbon matrix. The carbon matrix is formed by Chemical Vapor Infiltration (CVI) method. According to this method, a vapors of gases (such as CCl4) are introduced to the weaved carbon cloth and react on the surface of these fiber with formation of solid carbon phase. This solid carbon phase is the one that plays important role in friction and wear performance of the brakes.