PDA

View Full Version : A320 MCDU question


picollo
24th May 2006, 02:07
We just received the new Thales revision on mur MCDUs and had a question.

When do you use the constant mach function?
thanks in advance

Watchdog
24th May 2006, 07:39
usually when ATC require a constant mach number for separation with preceeding or following traffic at same level :ok:

Down Three Greens
24th May 2006, 07:55
Or 'across the pond' via the North Atlantic Track system or up/down the Tango route system to the Canaries from Ireland. It means that you can keep 'managed speed' throughout most of the flight if the Mach Number is defined only along a particular section of an airway (ii.e. T16) or along a NAT track.

It also it should give you a better MCDU estimate of the fuel at the destination because the aircraft will be predicting flying managed speed before, constant Mach on the section of airway and managed after.

picollo
26th May 2006, 01:21
thanks a lot guys.