PDA

View Full Version : USA trained CPL - fast track to opportunities in EU?

SEAtoABZ
22nd May 2006, 21:54
Greetings all, great forum -- I just discovered it and have learned some useful things...

At 38, I am intending to change my career back to what I studied in university. I've got a Commercial License with Instrument, CFI, CFII, and ME ratings. I've got about 280 total hours, 20 of which are ME. I've got a B. Sc. in Aeronautical Studies from the University of North Dakota...

I got sidetracked from an avaition career shortly after I graduated in 1991 (that's a story in itself), but now my current career has become boring -- I'd now would like to finish what I started... and after reading some posts here, I decided I'm not too old to give it a go.:)

I now live in Aberdeen Scotland, and just received UK citizenship. I am hoping to fly in Europe or Asia, not the USA. But, I am happy to instruct or do an ATP program in the USA (or anywhere) to get me where I need to be to get an EU regional or airline job as soon as possible.

Now, of course the laws are different. It sounds as though it's easier for a EU pilot to transfer to the US than vice versa -- too bad for me... so basically, I'm trying to get my head around what exactly my options are to get working and flying here in Europe... am I going to have to take a bunch of new written and practical tests?

Did anyone else here get US/FAA certifications and make it work in Europe with little hassle? I see the JAA and the FAA are working on "harmonizing" requirements, but as far as I can see, this hasn't happened yet regarding airmen certifications?

Any suggestions are appreciated. This is an exciting time, I just need to spend some time getting my options sorted. What would you all do if you were me?

Brett.

potkettleblack
23rd May 2006, 08:05