PDA

View Full Version : Computer Power supply in Airbus cockpits


albatross
20th May 2006, 17:38
I am a rotorhead so know little about airline cockpits.
A friend in the computer business is working on and bid asked me this question and so I am passing it on.
Is there provision to supply power to laptop computers in Airbus cockpits and if so where in the cockpit and on what electrical bus? What power is available? 24V 110 ect???
A photo would be of great help.
Thanks
Albatross

javelin
20th May 2006, 18:55
115v American style plug is fitted

FlightDetent
20th May 2006, 22:37
400 Hz, on the c/b wall behind F/O.

vapilot2004
20th May 2006, 23:01
110/220V - Depends on your carriers choice - it is an option.

The service outlets can be powered on the ground by switching the maintenance bus switch (overhead - aft cockpit) to ON - provided there is ground power available - otherwise power comes from AC Bus 2.

Fly3
22nd May 2006, 04:22
We have two power points. One on each sidewall below the sidestick console.

nnc0
22nd May 2006, 18:30
You may want to make sure the power supply is robust. At 400HZ I think you'll get some extra heat which laptops don't particularly like.

FlightDetent
27th May 2006, 13:23
I think the lavatory razor outlet is 50 Hz.

78deg
31st May 2006, 10:02
Dear All

I fly B767 and 757, my airline is heavily into laptops on the A/C, all pilots have been issued with them. Powersupply on the flightdeck at manufacture was 115vac at 400Hz, this is not acceptable for our laptop transformers as they can only cope with about 60Hz, as someone mentioned if you use this power the transformers get hot and I suspect will have a short life.

We have fitted 115vac at 50Hz in the flightdeck there are three outlets LHS RHS and 1st OBS, this was a major job and done on a C check.

I think they are supplied from the utility busses, but I am still tring to find out.

ATB