PDA

View Full Version : Q about Assymetric Ops

Spelunker
14th May 2006, 11:59
I am currently studying ATPL Aircraft Systems and came across a question regarding assymetric ops that I cannot figure out:
Q: If the critical engine fails, will that create
a) a long assymetric arm
b) long assymetric thrust.

I understand the whole concept of assymetirc ops, critical engine etc.. but I do not know which of the answers would be regarded as more correct out of the two. I have my thoughts on which one is more correct, but what do you guys think and would you be able to explain.

Thanks,
Spelunker

Con-Trail
14th May 2006, 15:15
The critical engine is the engine, which when it fails, generates the biggest yawing moment.

In other words: it has everything to do with the moment arm, not the thrust. (Apart from loosing 50% of it that is)

When you have a twin-prop aircraft with co-rotating propellers, (lets asume that they turn clockwise) the critical engine is the left engine.

Assymetric blade effect
The downgoing blade creates the greatest thrust. With an engine turning clockwise the arm on the right hand engine is greater.

Thus, when the left engine fails, the right engine creates a bigger yawing moment. If the right engine would fail, due to the assymetric blade effect, the yawing moment would not be so great because the moment arm is smaller.

On Jets
There are also critical engines on jets. They are the 2 inboard engines on a 4-engined aircraft: Again the longest arm creates the biggest yawing moment so if 1 inboard engine fails, a big yawing moment would be generated

So I would go for A).

Hope this helps

C-T

Spelunker
15th May 2006, 02:35
Thanks Con-Trail for your answer, very helpful. That was the answer I was leaning towards myself, i.e the assymetric arm.

I am having trouble agreeing with you on the Jet assymetric thrust. My book says that: