PDA

View Full Version : The 737 FMC


deuzx
6th May 2006, 13:19
Why does the datastorage on a 737 FMC only appears to be 128 KB or some thing like that? When an HDD at 250 GB costs USD 100? Okay. A HDD would maybe not been the best option when we think about stability. But a CF card on 1GB costs also 100 USD approximatly. A 737 FMC is "some" more expensive than that. I just wonder :)

Anyone?

dusk2dawn
6th May 2006, 13:30
The thingy comes a a certified package. Few 250 GB HD are certified. And your company just wont spend the money for an upgrade.

deuzx
6th May 2006, 13:50
Tnx then! I understand. The economy does play an important role here.

uniuniunium
7th May 2006, 02:04
128 kB is actually a good lot of storage for the kind of things the FMC in a 737 would need. I would imagine that any data stored wouldn't be any more complicated than strings of ASCII text (Routes, etc), think about how much text you could fit in a simple txt file, probably hundreds of routes. 128kB would (very) roughly equate to about 128,000 characters, more than enough for what a FMC needs!

Charles Darwin
7th May 2006, 10:52
Thatīs right. Characters donīt use much space, and 128k is usually quite enough for a short range jet.
Until we start storing porn..............:rolleyes:

john_tullamarine
7th May 2006, 10:56
One of the problems is the timeframe (ie lag) for developmental R&D to address the certification requirements .. meantime, by the time the gadget is in the marketplace, the IT Industry has moved umpteen generations ahead and the gadget is hopelessly outperformed by the kids' gee-whizz toys at home ... fact of life, I'm afraid ...

uniuniunium
8th May 2006, 03:36
Thatīs right. Characters donīt use much space, and 128k is usually quite enough for a short range jet.
Until we start storing porn..............:rolleyes:
EFBs: not just for charts anymore :P



(what, you thought there was some other reason the T7's EFB runs Windows?)