PDA

View Full Version : Handheld gps on an airliner.

magpienja
2nd May 2006, 17:10
Hi all sorry to use your forum but you are the guys to answer my question, I have a small handheld gps that I use on my microlight in the uk, I will be flying down to the south of france with ryanair in june and would like to keep tabs on the flight progress with my gps, would it be in order to use it in flight I dont want to take it if I cannot use it, not even sure if it would work but may near the window I suppose.

Nick.

radeng
3rd May 2006, 08:01
They wouldn't like it if they knew. I wouldn't, but then, I'm a bit paranoid about these things because of being a radio engineer by profession.

alemaobaiano
3rd May 2006, 11:12
Nick

Ask the crew. I also have a handheld and sometimes want to use it to track my location, so I always ask the crew first. Sometimes they will say yes, sometimes no, so you should accept their answer, whatever it is.

Radeng, it's quite possible, on commuter aircraft at least, that the flight crew have their own hand-held in use. If they present that much of a safety hazard I would hope that the folks at the front would have theirs switched off too.

ab

Superpilot
3rd May 2006, 11:13
I've done it many times, even had an interested hostie ask me about it.

TightSlot
3rd May 2006, 13:20
The official reply is likely to be negative: If the CC are smart they will initially give a neutral reply, and then ask you if you mind if they check with the Flight Crew/Commander. He/She will then advise the crew accordingly, and they will in turn advise you.

Airlines (and Crew in particular) tend not to like electronic devices being used in flight, for both safety and security reasons, working on the theory that it is better to be safe than sorry: Sadly on PPRuNe, such a statement is likely to cause a series of follow-up posts, along the lines of...

"I've used my XXX in the cabin for years with no ill-effects."