PDA

View Full Version : GA vs Airline

9M-
27th Apr 2006, 07:57
Hi to all fellow pilots and aspiring pilots,
Just thought of starting this thread to give aviation another point of view. I believe when u come to this forum there are numerous amount of threads all asking about how to get into the airlines, whats their requirement, how to excel in the cadet pilot interview...everything seems to be evolving around the prestigeous 'Airline Job'. The question i want to post is:

1)Is flying only about airline?
2)Had anyone ever stop for a moment and take a look at General Aviation?

In my opinion, flying is not only about getting into the airlines, flying big jets. If one really love flying, there are many jobs in the general aviation such as instructing, chartered flying, dust spraying etc. I had been flying for 4 years now, and people i meet all around i can say maybe only 1 in 100 is intrested in picking GA as a career. Why is this so? What had the perception of flying been build around us ?

Is it due to the fact that GA gives u lesser money? Less prestigeous? If one really compare the amount of stress working in airline, maybe they are a few thousand more but is money really the only pushing factor? Is prestige another doing ? Or is flying with the pretty stewardess more motivating then flying with an old uncle beside u learning to fly?

Anyway hope i can have some comments & feedbacks from you ladies and guys out there:) ..thanks.

antohalim
27th Apr 2006, 09:19
Nice topic 9M-...

Myself, being a PPL holder, can't really say how good it is flying with an airline, since I have no experience at all.. But to tell the truth, GA is FUN!!