PDA

View Full Version : Any female pilots out there just starting out???

marrymefly4free
12th Apr 2006, 11:51
Hey im a 21year old female who currently works as cabin crew, and i'm hoping to start my PPL in the next month.

Does anyone have any advice, information etc... on coming into this side of the industry as young female ex-cabin crew??? :cool:

Whirlygig
12th Apr 2006, 11:58
Ignore all the cockpit/box office jokes - you'll hear them all hundreds of times told by someone who thinks they are original :hmm:

Be professional at all times and your sex won't matter :)

Cheers

Whirls

marrymefly4free
12th Apr 2006, 12:03
Think i've heard every joke in the book so far now the boys at work have found out!! Whirls r u flight deck? ;)

MrHorgy
12th Apr 2006, 12:22
Who you working with at the moment? I'm CC at Manchester too and i'm studying fr my license (gotta do SOMETHING on that beach ;) )

Horgy

Whirlygig
12th Apr 2006, 12:23
Yes, I suppose, if you call that perspex bubble on a single piston engined helicopter, a flight deck ;) :ok:

But I suspect the heli world is different to fixed wing as far as women are treated! I have to admit that I have not had any difficulties because I'm female - the only disadvantage is that I am short and trying to fix the tie-downs on a Jet Ranger caused a great deal of amusement to all and sundry :)

Let's hope you don't experience any difficulties either - I don't think you will! Times are a-changing and we're no longer a novelty!

Cheers

Whirls

femaleWannabe
12th Apr 2006, 12:32
I'm female... just starting my PPL and hope to go commerical eventually. I haven't had any problems so far - I did a computer science degree where there were about 100 guys and 3 girls on the course, so I guess I'm used to the whole "male dominated environment" thing!

marrymefly4free
12th Apr 2006, 12:39