PDA

View Full Version : PPL to ATPL advice...

FTD-Bender
29th Mar 2006, 14:56
Hi there,

Well, I am looking for some advice... In short, I am looking at doing my CPL/ATPL. I have held a PPL since 1994 on completion of my RAF Flying Scholarship. Since the RAF turned me down for pilot on the basis that I went to a German school because my father was in the Army posted out in Germany, I have never really thought about flying Commercial till now; 12yrs down the line. Now 29, I want to get back into the flying side of things... I am an IT Technician/Programmer, who is bloody bored with computing. (Trust me computing isn't its all cracked up to be)... Now the questions are as follows...

Is it worth while going for it, know that there is a very slim chance of getting a job out of it with airlines (but to be honest, I don't really care who or what I fly as long as I get something big'ish/big and get paid for it).

Once on the road of no return, so to speak, I am looking at getting the hour building done in Oz. and try getting the exams done there as well, through distance learning from Oxford Flying Training. How much will I be looking at to get to a frozen ATPL, even though I already have a PPL?

Knowing that it won't be cheap, I am looking at asking my bank manager for the funds to further my training. Now would this simply be like asking for a mortgage or just a simple case of a business plan as such...

I know that 29 is a bit late to leave it, but to be frank, I am doing this as I have had a long hard look at my life from the last 12yrs. Found myself seriously bored and just going through the, every day routine of doing the same thing, day in and day out... So time for the change, as the clock stops for no one.

Thnx in advance...

scroggs
29th Mar 2006, 19:09
Since the RAF turned me down for pilot on the basis that I went to a German school because my father was in the Army posted out in Germany,