PDA

View Full Version : BT phone over CAT5 network

Daysleeper
6th Mar 2006, 09:12
I'm going round in circles at the moment.
I'm wiring up a home network, I have a normal BT master socket. I have a patch panel wired with cat5e cable to distibute my network around the house.
I know I need an adaptor to connect a BT male plug with an RJ-45 Female socket so I can then move the live phone line around the patch panel as needed. But I cannot work out whether the adaptor needs to be a Full Master Socket with line protection, PABX Master Socket w/o line protection or PABX Slave Socket only. And then at the other end I need an unadaptor to go back from RJ45 to BT. :{ It is sending me slowly mad.

shuttlebus
6th Mar 2006, 12:54
Daysleeper,

Looks like a big no-no.

Check out the pagr from Maplin Electronics. The Q&A section seems quire explicit on the matter.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=30150&criteria=Modular%20Wall%20Accessories&doy=6m3

Regards,

Shuttlebus

Land After
6th Mar 2006, 14:31
And even Maplin sell the bits:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=22940&&source=14&doy=search

CAT5 is just wire are the end of the day, and you only need wire for a telephone system. You should be able to feed the phone into one end of your cabling system, patch it through at the panel, then get the output at the appropriatye socket. Take the output from your master socket.

Lost_luggage34
6th Mar 2006, 15:24
Yes, of course you can do it - virtually all telephone installations in an office environment are done this way, albeit on a larger scale.

Questions to ask ;

1. Is it a bog-standard POTS telephone ? I.e. plain old telephone that can plug straight into a regular BT style socket ?

More than likely YES.

2. Have you got ADSL broadband ?

If so, some thought into where the filter needs to reside will be required.

3. Is your Cat5e cabling fully tested with standard pin-outs ?