PDA

View Full Version : EX QSP lyxn pilot wants sponsorship

wlynx
28th Feb 2006, 10:25
HI , does any one know off any companys offering sponsorship assistance with CPL (H ) at this time. I am an ex service helicopter pilot who has just missed out on credits towards my CPL due to time elapsed, I have been informed by the CAA that if I complete my PPL in a Gazelle I need only enouth hours to pass the skills test, then straight onto the 35 hrs CPL(H) as all my previous hours count towards the rating. so I am looking for financial help in return for a commitment to the company, any info on any uk or european company sponsoring at the moment would be welcome. thanks .....wayne...

scroggs
28th Feb 2006, 11:05
It is extremely unlikely that you will find any company willing to finance any part of your training. There is no shortage of wannabe commercial pilots, hence sponsorships of any kind are very few and far between. Those that exist have quite restrictive age limits.

However, I am not overly familiar with the commercial helicopter scene, so I shall move this post to where those that are can give you more information.

Scroggs

mongoose237
28th Feb 2006, 11:18
As Scroggs says, it is unlikely to find a company to sponsor your training, however such things have happened. With the exception of a few large onshore operators, the only companies with those sort of resources would be offshore. And in a day when IR(H) sponsorships are hard to come by, asking for a PPL/CPL/IR(H) sponsorship...

If you are unable to find someone to sponsor you, a way to minimize costs is:
1. Convert your CAA PPL(H) to FAA PPL(H) through filling out the appropriate paperwork, or indeed side-step the CAA one altogether as it is not necessary to enter the modular CPL course.
2. Take 3 hours with an FAA CFI (certified flight instructor) then your FAA CPL(H) check ride.
3. This now reduces your CPL(H) modular training from 35 hours to "training as required"