PDA

View Full Version : Insurance against "Hot Starting"???

chester2005
23rd Feb 2006, 19:27
I may have the opportunity to do some hours building in a 206B3 in the near future .:)
This sounds like a good idea to me , but as a low hours pilot I am seen as a potential "Hot Start" risk.:ugh:
As with a lot of time builders , I am not in the position to be able to pay for a hot start out of my own pocket.
My training in starting the C20 in the 206 was very good and thorough and I have no concern of hot starting but nevertheless it has been mentioned.

I have been told that there is an insurance policy one can take out as a low hours pilot that will pay out in the event of hot starting the helicopter.

I have tried searching the archive and done a couple of WWW searches but to no avail .
Can anyone help please???

Is this available???
If so , how much is it?

Many thanks in advance Chester:ok: :ok:

206 jock
23rd Feb 2006, 20:34
I think you've been slightly misinformed, but I can see why.

Talk to your school or the operator - if this machine i insured through Haywards (biggest in UK), it probably includes 'hot start cover', although it's a 'once only' insurance, ie once it has been claimed on, you can't claim again...ever...on the policy.

My 206 is covered - fortunately, never had to claim on it (where's that fingers crossed smilie??)

Hope that helps

BlenderPilot
23rd Feb 2006, 20:49
If you were starting a 206L in which you have to modulate, and have direct control of what is going on and how toasty the engine gets, then you could worry about it, but on a 206B3 the engine start is really a matter of the Fuel Control, if it's got battery and its not too hot it will usually start fine, and you are just there to stop the thing from going a above the limitations. So really what you should do is just give yourself a number above you will not let the TOT go above and if it gets close to it just cut it and that's it.