PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Security Patches!

CherokeeDriver
15th Feb 2006, 19:02
Hi - am I the only one getting totally p1ssed off with having to download 9MB of security patches this month. I work in IT and Mr Gates gives me a very lucrative living, but for fecks sake.....

For those of you better at flying planes than operating your PC go to "Live Update" on Microsoft.com and apply these patches - there are some very nasty people trying to steal your passwords....

djk
15th Feb 2006, 19:06
looks like another one of those "here's an update to fix all the things we forgot to do on this version of windows"

When they did the patches for N.T4.1 one patch was meant to fix about 1500 errors on the operating system

ThreadBaron
15th Feb 2006, 19:59
'n' I thought nicotine patches were a pain in the a**e!;)

Grainger
15th Feb 2006, 20:17
What I don't understand is why does - for example - an email program need to have the facility to automatically send out emails to everyone in your address book without you knowing ? Why do the hooks that viruses exploit even exist ?

djk
15th Feb 2006, 20:35
Grainger,

The more complex you make a system / network the more back doors there are.
Until someone finds that backdoor that's when it's drawn to your attention.

B Fraser
15th Feb 2006, 21:24
Why do the hooks that viruses exploit even exist ?

errrrrrrr.......because the anti-virus software companies write them :confused:

Jerricho
15th Feb 2006, 21:41
Cherokee, repeat after me : HIGH SPEED CONNECTION :ok: ;)

Wonderworld
16th Feb 2006, 06:26
Cherokee, repeat after me : HIGH SPEED CONNECTION :ok: ;)

Oh No. Repeat after me Get a Mac :ok:

Tarq57
16th Feb 2006, 08:40