PDA

View Full Version : Advice sought; conduct unbecoming?

Underahat
26th Jan 2006, 16:45
I'm looking for a little bit of anonymous advice. I've found out recently that a bloke I know quite well in one of the services has been misbehaving in his post. He's been using his position of authority to start some relationships with women under his control. Due to his job, they're not people under his direct command but people whose careers he has very direct control over. I'm no expert but very sure it amounts to harrassment.

I didn't think it was much of my business until I found out a close friend was involved, and now the angry Englishman in me wants the bloke strung up. I've not been in the forces very long at all so thought that a bit of anonymous advice might be sensible. Does this happen lots? Should I wind my neck in? Or should I speak to some people?

Sorry for being vague. Help via PMs or replies here much appreciated.

ZH875
26th Jan 2006, 16:51
sounds like you could get the answer from the newspaper you sound like you write for.

Harrasment is a personal thing and there are rules and guidelines laid down for ALL to follow. If the people concerned feel they are being harrased, they have a clear path to state their case. Nothing anonymous is required.

Underahat
26th Jan 2006, 17:05
Not a journo; just a guy in flying training keen my QFIs don't identify me! The woman in question's a civilian, so has no information nor any clear line to take. On top of that, she doesn't want her partner involved, or finding out. As I say, I wasn't sure if a third party like me should get involved to try and draw attention to this person and stop him carrying on, or if I should just wind my neck in?

ZH875
26th Jan 2006, 17:17