PDA

View Full Version : QOL at Cathay Cargo

J32drivr
14th Jan 2006, 14:18
Hey there everyone,
Brand new to this forum, and I want to start by saying thanks to all of you for posting a lot of good info here, including all the interview gouge.
I'm currently studying for a Feb.13th interview for DEFO (cargo) here in the US. I have a couple of questions though about QOL at Cathay that I have'nt been able to find anywhere and I was hoping someone could shed some light.

1. What are the trips like? Two weeks on, two weeks off? 7 on 7 off? etc...If you are "gone" for two weeks are you out of the country the whole time or do you come back, sit for a day or so, and then go back out (I have some friends at Gemini and World that do this)

2. Medical Bennies-How are they? Is there copay, how much, etc...

3. Travel bennies-My wife and I love to travel, and this would be one of the big perks, especially once we make the eventual move to HK. Is employee travel limited? is it free or do you have to pay? Can you get First/Business Class? (I heard somewhere you might be restricted to coach)

4. Basing-will I find out my base before I get hired or after training? Do I get to choose or am I assigned?

5. Lastly, training pay-what do you get while in training? I need to make sure I'll at least be able to pay the mortgage, you know?

Thanks for any info you can give,
Fly Safe!!!

flyrjs
16th Jan 2006, 01:54
Hey J32driver See ya in NYC on the 13th! Decided which hotel is the better one yet?

I'd like more knowledge about your listed issues as well.

Good luck!! :ok:

J32drivr
16th Jan 2006, 17:43
Not sure where we're staying yet. I might just catch a flight back home on JB after the interview, or my wife and I might stay the night in NYC and go out. Just out curiousity, I see you live in Cinci, do you fly for Comair? I'm ex-Indy:{ , but my wife's a Comair FA based in JFK, so maybe we've crossed paths. Keep in touch, maybe we'll meet up and grab a pint afterwards.

flyrjs