PDA

View Full Version : employment for french ? help me

sam34
16th Dec 2005, 20:17
Hi!

i am new in this forum.
I am a french student in ATPL in the south of France so sorry for my english.
I'm 20 years, and wish to become an airline pilot like you!
Why I am here?

I am afraid...because I'm studing ATPL but in France the employment is very bad...
most students pilots are in unemployment after the course CPL/IR.

The company AIR FRANCE is the only who recruits many people aproximately 200 by year.
But every year 500 students pilots are formed and 1700 pilots are in unemployement actually however they get CPL/IR MCC sometimes with QT 737, ATR, Focker etc...

In france, we often hear that in england the situation of aviation is good, and for exemple for find work in the restauration, barman it's very easy if we speak a little english. You have good reputation. :ok:

I wonder if with a JAA ATPL (but French in fact! ) a french can become an airline pilot in england ? How is the employment in reality ?

You'll see my message in this forum, because I am very interested by UK, I Like english, and I would like working as Flight dispatcher, or cabin crew if I don't become pilot after my course.

than you very much

:D

KrazyKraut
16th Dec 2005, 21:15
Thanks to JAA-standardisation, there is no reason why you can't, in principle, get a job in England or another JAA country with a French licence. During the golden days of cadet sponsorship, even BA selected into its Trainee Pilot Programme quite a few Europeans whose first language isn't English.

But herein lies the key - if you attend an interview with an English airline, your language skills must obviously be at a high level - you need to fit in the organisation.

You didn't say at what stage of your training you're at, but if you are doing the ATPL theory now, a good idea might be to go to a UK FTO (training provider). You'd get used to flying to UK procedures, and brush up on your language skills as well.