PDA

View Full Version : Is a PhD an over-qualification?

scruggs
29th Nov 2005, 13:20
Hi all,

Here's the thing, I'm 24 so I know I'm pushing the upper age limits of the Sponsorship schemes out there. At present my qualifications stand at 10 GSCE's A*- C, 2 A-Levels, and a B.Eng (hons) 2:1 in Electrical/Electronic Engineering (Aston). I am currently doing a PhD in Optical Sensors for structural monitoring of aircraft composites.

I have my concerns however, that 'Dr' easyPilot PhD might be looked at as a bit over-the-top. Anybody with opinions on how airlines view a PhD? Some organisiations are wiery of PhD's as they think we will demand high wages, and leave after 6 months.

I'm hoping to apply for the next round of Thomsonfly and FlyBe part-sponsorship courses next year. Does anyone know of other airlines that "part-sponsor" the integrated ATPL? I know about the CTC McAlpine "full-sponsorship" schemes for TXC and EZY, I'm through to Stage 2 at the minute.

Anyway, thanks in advance to all those who offer their advice and opinions.

Cheers,

Steve.

Stpaul
29th Nov 2005, 13:38
Better off with a Phd than without. Demonstrates your ability to learn.
Will not be a problem.

High Wing Drifter
29th Nov 2005, 13:47
If nothing else, you'll be the perfect person to re-write the Ops Manual :uhoh:

Sorry, I seem to be unable to provide constructive comment lately
:O

scruggs
29th Nov 2005, 14:04
Thanks for the replies guys.

Any pilots out there who have a PhD wanna share their opnions as well? I'd be interested to hear about situations you have encountered, which have arisen directly due to you having a PhD.

Thanks again,

Steve.

EGBKFLYER
29th Nov 2005, 14:15
Sorry but I fail to see what difference having a PhD will make - either way.

I'm guessing you perceive a risk that an airline will think 'PhD = overqualified = not a long-term prospect' and therefore will not give you an interview?