PDA

View Full Version : GPS personal SATNAV for PAX

speke2me
22nd Nov 2005, 19:59
Is it acceptable/allowable to use a personal GPS to track/record your position/route as a PAX, by eg pointing it through the window to RX the satellites?

One product I personally own is a 'Tomtom Go' - only a surface road-finding device. Others may use other programs used on PDA's.

Do such devices, being RX only, constitute any danger to flight systems/avionics?

I would have thought many modern laptops, with inbuilt radiating 'wifi' constitute a greater danger.

Sorry, BTW, if this has been discussed in many earlier threads - I'm fairly new to Pprune.

Ace Rimmer
25th Nov 2005, 07:32
It's an interesting question, I bet there might be some twitchy-ness ((security related) esp on US carriers.

That said some years ago I was lent a Garmin hand held to 'evaluate' (and do a review of) and I took it with me on a work trip across the pond. Made my self known (via business card) to the FD and told em I'd like to use the GPS during the flight.

Total non problem as a mater of fact I was given some waypoints to input coresponding to the palnned track and periodically throuout the flight we compared the data on theGarmin with the INS derived stuff on the FMC. But like I say this was with a GPS intended for avaition use and pre 9/11 so were not comparing apples with apples.

wiggy
27th Nov 2005, 11:20
No prohibition as far as I'm aware on GPS, but FYI wi-fi is definitely a no- no with my operator.

Pax Vobiscum
27th Nov 2005, 18:05
Please tell me that airlines aren't getting paranoid about WiFi now (except, of course, for those that are installing it as a chargeable option). Emissions from a laptop are orders of magnitude lower than a mobile phone and there must be very few commercial flights that aren't carrying at least one (inadvertently) active phone.