PDA

View Full Version : !st job on the ramp, advice?

powdermonkey
18th Nov 2005, 13:09
Hi all,

I will be starting a new job as ramp agent(posh for humping luggage) next month. I am studying full time for my ATPL's and am doing this so I can hang around ac, make a bit of money to pay for my flying training etc.etc.

Having never done this sort of work before, I would be very interested in knowing what will be expected of me, what sort of jobs will I initially be doing, will I be assigned to work with someone who is already experienced, type of shift hours etc?

Would really appreciate advice from the people who have experience on the ramp. I would also like to find out how I can progress a little bit and work my way to a bit more responsibility?

Any input would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

liverpoolmum
19th Nov 2005, 09:17
I HAVE WORKED AS SECURITY AT MANCHESTER AIRPORT AND IM NOW AT LIVERPOOL AS LOST LUGGAGE AGENT. TRUST ME YOU WONT BE LEFT ALONE ON THE RAMP UNTIL YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING IVE ONLY WORKED ON THE RAMP AS SECURITY WATCHING YOU GUYS WORK HARD.
WORKING IN THE AIRPORT IS ONE OF THOSE JOBS YOU EITHER LOVE IT OR HATE IT.
BUT CAN YOU DO US GUYS IN LOST LUGGAGE A FAVOUR IF A BAG FALLS OFF PICK IT UP FOR US DONT RUN OVER IT PLZ LOL BEST OF LUCK ANN

Abdel
19th Nov 2005, 09:59
Worked as a ramp agent for Aviance at LHR.......

- Noise pollution - you absolutely must wear ear plugs or guards - even if everyone else isn't (Tinitus etc...)

- Air Pollution - breath through your effing nose!!

- Hard work (Extra hard work during School Holidays)

- Crap Pay - but overtime usually available at good rates

- Knee pain - you must wear those knee pads!

-/+ You may be required or encouraged to join a Union (most BA, Aviance workers do) - this is not necessarily a bad thing!

I was lucky I was at LHR - no night shifts for me, just lates and earlies, but depending on which airfield you are working at there may be a requirement to work nights...