PDA

View Full Version : What On Earth.......

acbus1
7th Nov 2005, 16:51
The Water Board (or whatever they're called these days) are going to rip up the old mains and replace with wonderful shiny new plastic.

Trouble is, they say this won't act as an electrical earth for the wiring in our house. They say it's our responsibility to check and sort it.

I see mucho money dissapearing down a big pit. :uhoh:

Does any one have experience of this, please?

(Free of charge, please. Good conduct. Quick as a flash. I'll offer no resistance. Safety in the ohm and all that.)

Farmer 1
7th Nov 2005, 17:07
Are they going to rip up the pipe which actually feeds into your house? If not, I don't think it will change anything.

If yes, then you will need to do something, like get an earth spike, which should not be expensive.

I'm not an expert here, just a pilot, you understand, but you do need to ask for professional advice. I would imagine (and sincerely hope) that the water board would give out the information before they start doing the work.

The laws on electrical fittings are being changed on a daily basis, so I say again, professional advice is necessary, I'm afraid.

tony draper
7th Nov 2005, 17:13
Yup a large copper spike driven into the earth will surfice,lecktricy loves the earth yer see,
frankly one does not understand why they did not do away with earths years ago, they can be a menace.
:cool:

acbus1
7th Nov 2005, 17:14
Thanks, Farmer 1 and Monsieur D. :ok:

That raises another question.

There was a thread recently about the new regulations for anyone working on domestic electricity installations. Basically, if I got it right, only qualified people (so called) allowed to do any work with prior survey and approval of the Local Government Council Jobsworths.

Wondering if this will rear it's stupid head as well..... :uhoh:

Farmer 1
7th Nov 2005, 17:23