PDA

View Full Version : CHIRP - Level Best 2 DVD

Canada Goose
29th Oct 2005, 17:23
Hi there,

I tried to view the DVD 'Level Best' that was sent out with this quarters release of CHIRP. However, on trying to play it I am informed;
"Windows Media Player cannot play this DVD because a compatible DVD decoder is not installed on your computer."

I bought the PC about 12-18 months ago throught the internet. It was quite high spec and came with a DVD drive and so I am quite surprised it won't play the DVD, which incidentally, I have never tried using before and have just tried playing another DVD and same response.

Do you think the company that sold it to me didn't set it up properly. I know they hadn't properly connected some of the USB ports properly as this was discovered whilst doing a data migration from my old PC hard drive !

Can anyone recommend a course of action !?

Thanks
CG.
:confused:

mcdhu
29th Oct 2005, 17:35
Me too! Slung it in the Dvd player and it played a treat!!

Cheers,
mcdhu

Conan the Librarian
29th Oct 2005, 17:38
You may be able to update the drivers for the DVD drive. You might be able to get the latest revisions from the PC manufacturer/reseller or you can get to the drivers via the device manager in Windows

Conan

BOAC
29th Oct 2005, 18:09
I thought it a very well put together DVD.

I have abandoned WMP10 for DVDs in favour of 'Intervideo' but I believe you need to download 'xpack' DVD codecs to make WMP work with DVDs.

I agree, in 2005 with SP2, XP should just 'DO' DVDs out of the box. As it is you need these extra bits to add. Good old MS:rolleyes:

terrain safe
29th Oct 2005, 20:46