PDA

View Full Version : assessment day?

keenas
1st Oct 2005, 05:06
Hi guys, this is my first time on this site so excuse me if i have done anything wrong! I am an applicant for pilot and have passed the aircrew testing and have the assessment day with the medical, psych and defence interview coming up fairly soon. I was just wondering if anybody out there might be able to give me a heads up about what to expect? Also i have been having a little trouble with one of the preparation questions, "what is the difference between an officer and a non-commissioned rank?".

From what i can figure, aside from being in charge of the non-commisioned rank, the officer has overall responsibility. Just wondering if i am missing something that is very obvious and pehaps how others have answered the q?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Pontius Navigator
1st Oct 2005, 07:49
I won't try and give an authoritative answer, but an LAC is a newly posted airman capble of working under supervision. This is the same skill set that you, as a newly commissioned pilot, will have immediately after Cranwell.

An SAC is capable of unsupervised work. Typically they will have a better idea of hour sqn ops works than you do, probably for the first 6 months of more after you finish your OCU.

A cpl is the first level of junior management. A Cpl earns the same as a Fg Off.

Getting the message?

A sgt might have 10 years or more experience before he got promoted. A FS is starting to become a rare beast. As for a WO, treat carefully at all times.

It is almost a question of a parallel universe. As far as aircrew go that is even truer as you would have very little to do with the other half BUT . . .

At IOT they do not take in to account your potential as a pilot as they recognise that many only become officers and not aircrew.