PDA

View Full Version : looking for pilots to help with new book research

laurenceh
22nd Sep 2005, 16:33
I am publisher of a series of How To books that introduce new topics to complete beginners.

We are in the research stage for a book that would teach anyone what to do in an emergency aboard an airliner in the US (ie, how to read an AI, how to contact ATC, how to follow instructions to land the plane). Our reader research indicates that there would be a solid audience for such a book, though obviously it could only cover the very basics.

We are looking for a small set of airline pilots as experts we can contact during compilation of the new book. This would involve answering the occasional email and reviewing an early draft of the book for factual errors. In return, we would give full credit in the book and would provide you with a dozen free copies.

We are specifically looking for pilots with 737, 757 or A320 experience.

If you are willing to help, please reply to this post or send me a private message.

Laurence Holt
New York

Genghis the Engineer
22nd Sep 2005, 17:03
At risk of sounding difficult, wouldn't providing information to explain to the untrained how to fly an airliner just a little controversial in NY.

G

laurenceh
22nd Sep 2005, 17:11
The book will focus on bringing a plane under control and landing it. That's the very thing the 9/11 terrorists were not interested in learning.

L

Homo Ludens
22nd Sep 2005, 17:14
That's interesting. PM me for more info.
Cheers!

Capt Claret
22nd Sep 2005, 23:00
Once the novice has read the book, how are they going to get into the flight deck to put their new found knowledge to the test?

Maximum
22nd Sep 2005, 23:35
In return, we would give full credit in the book and would provide you with a dozen free copies.

Is there no limit to your generosity? How much do you expect to make from the book?