PDA

View Full Version : That LAX 320 landing

yintsinmerite
22nd Sep 2005, 21:36
I have just watched the BBC coverage of the 320 dodgy landing gear incident at LAX. I know that there is a thread running in the rumours forum, but quite honestly, as a non pro, I dont like posting in there - its other peoples play pen (so to speak). I couldn't, however, let it pass without commenting on my total respect and admiration for the guys who were flying that thing. On the basis that any landing you walk away from is a good one, they , performed a fantastic feat.and showed the world that in a bad year for aviation, well trained, and well qualified jockies can overcome an awful lot of adversity.

Well done guys (or gals).

barit1
23rd Sep 2005, 02:40
No question - the crew had the beast mastered.

Too bad we can't say the same for Airbus; someone reported this is the eighth such incident.

Huck
23rd Sep 2005, 02:50
Those new airplanes fly themselves, don't they?

RJM
23rd Sep 2005, 03:21
Don't think so, although I've heard there's a groove down the middle of the runways. You just put the front wheel in there, brake lightly and go back to combing your hair etc ready for the apres-flight cocktails...

phnuff
23rd Sep 2005, 06:08
there's a groove down the middle of the runways. You just put the front wheel in there, brake lightly and go back to combing your hair etc ready for the apres-flight cocktails..

Kinda like Scalectrix - neat !

PerArdua
23rd Sep 2005, 07:50
seems the pilot has had good prior training for the incident. It has happened to him before!! How unlucky can you get?

I would say jinxed!!! not lucky

PA

lasernigel
23rd Sep 2005, 08:13
its other peoples play pen

If you make a sensible contribution it's OK.I make one now and then and even started a topic which got a fair bit of input.:ok:
Don't be overawed they're human as well.:ok:

tony draper
23rd Sep 2005, 08:34