PDA

View Full Version : Do pilots make good drivers?

TheFlyingSquirrel
19th Sep 2005, 20:39
The rumour goes, that airline pilots ( in particular ) make very poor drivers ? Is this true ?

HOGE
19th Sep 2005, 20:46
I'm a much safer/slower driver after 4 years of attending other peoples accidents as an EMS pilot:sad:

belowMDA
19th Sep 2005, 20:55
I think my driving is made better by my flying in that I look and think further ahead, and am more situationally aware than others (especially my girlfriend). I guess I get the high speed bug out of my system while at work so it isn't coming out while driving. I also have made it through the 18-25 yr old period so maligned by insurers without even a scratch on my car.

Farrell
19th Sep 2005, 21:09
I became a better driver after my PPL. Again as above, I think further ahead and my situational awareness is better.

(I just have to keep remembering to stay off the centreline :uhoh: )

tall and tasty
19th Sep 2005, 21:37
Well hate to say it but my ex was probably and still is one of the worst dirvers I have ever had the pleasure of being in the car with. He flies commercial jets

He has a friend who flies and is in the police force and his driving is pretty diabolical too

But saying that I do have some good friends who drive and fly and they are good at both regardless of whether they fly fixed or roto.

TnT

CosmosSchwartz
19th Sep 2005, 21:46
My car insurance premium dramatically reduced (much to my surprise) the day I was able to list Airline Pilot as my occupation.

I can only assume this is because the insurance companies view pilots as low risk, so I guess the rumour is false.

OneWorld22
19th Sep 2005, 21:51
Insurance companies would see pilots as being fit and mentally disciplined, fussy about drinking when driving etc etc

Little do they know! :p

Loki
19th Sep 2005, 21:57
Some pilots even make good pilots!

planepsycho
19th Sep 2005, 23:15