PDA

View Full Version : Biggin Hill Airshow

SoundBarrier
2nd Sep 2005, 12:18
OK, so I am a newbie to the UK and currently am working and living temporarily in Staplehurst.

I am thinking of driving down to Biggin Hill tomorrow to enjoy the airshow. Is anyone else going, is it worth the 20 squid to go? Would people recommend taking the train instead?

Any information would be taken with a pinch of salt since this is JetBlast erm, greatly appreciated.

Edited to make the post make sense.

Tonkatoy
2nd Sep 2005, 13:01
I'm planning on being there tomorrow. Expect driving there to be painful, the roads into Biggin are not the biggest. Flying starts at around 11:30am, but the gates open a 9am.

I've never taken the train, but the last leg of the journey will be by bus, which will be slow coz they use the same roads as the rest of us.

Is it worth it? Depends if you like to see old warbirds flying and if you've got kids they usually have loads of bouncy castles there :)

eal401
2nd Sep 2005, 13:03
If it's anything like the Yorkshire Airshow, get there by 9am. And be prepared to wait a long time to get home!!

Gainesy
2nd Sep 2005, 13:47
SB,
There is also the RAFA airshow at Shoreham tomorrow and Sunday, most of what is displayed at Biggin will also display at Shoreham as they shuttle between the two shows. Might be easier to get to too. Head south to the coast, turn right and follow your nose. Don't have a scooby about prices at either.

Biggles Flies Undone
2nd Sep 2005, 13:53
The great thing about Shoreham is that it's an easyish train ride from London and an easy walk to the show from Shoreham station.

Adults 16 and kids 7 - you can check it out here. (http://www.shorehamairshow.com/index.html)

effortless
2nd Sep 2005, 14:05