PDA

View Full Version : Wine Bottles... are they getting harder to open?

topcat450
31st Aug 2005, 23:07
I think they are... in the olden days with proper corks they were relatively easy and satisfying to open.

These new-fangled rubber thingies seem a lot tougher to get out.

Not a good look when you're trying to look suave in front of the fairer sex and have to bust a blood vessel opening a bottle of plonk for her.

And before some bright spark suggests I stick to champagne.. you can **** off! :} :ok: She wasn't that special.

tart1
31st Aug 2005, 23:07
Get the woman to do it!!

I am excellent at opening bottles of wine!! :D

rubik101
31st Aug 2005, 23:11
Just unscrew it like what I do.

tart1
31st Aug 2005, 23:12
I thought it was screwing you were best at! ;) ;)

rubik101
31st Aug 2005, 23:21
And pray tell how would you know that? Are you assuming that because I open wine with my fingers rather than some mechanical device I am an expert at screwing? Actually, you might be right.

tart1
31st Aug 2005, 23:22
I am guessing that you are quite keen on mechanical devices as a rule.

Right??:D

rubik101
31st Aug 2005, 23:25
I don't use my tool as a rule but I do use my unscrewing hand to good effect sometimes. So I have been told by those who appreciate a good wine!

Conan the Librarian
1st Sep 2005, 00:22
A good whine? Here? Jetblast? Noooooooo.....

Conan

con-pilot
1st Sep 2005, 04:31
No, just remember that practice makes perfect!:ok:

Rollingthunder
1st Sep 2005, 04:38
There are cork pullers with levers for the arm strength challenged.

I find the plastic corks pull out cleaner than the corks. Save a cork tree.

ORAC
1st Sep 2005, 07:02
The opposite Rollingthunder. Plastic stoppers and killing the cork forests. See here (http://www.findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m2465/is_8_30/ai_67448418). You should use cork.

Unwell_Raptor
1st Sep 2005, 09:22
I find that the third bottle is somehow harder to open than the first.

phoenix son
1st Sep 2005, 09:33