PDA

View Full Version : For Sunfish - Re ACFT Inbound from Brighton

CAVOK Pilot
26th Aug 2005, 23:06
Hi Sunfish, saw the other post was closed so adding this here.

Another case that concerns me - aircraft inbound for YMMB from Brighton when runway 31L or 35L is in use for outbound aircraft heading northwest. Outbound, One instructor sees no problem, an examiner on the other hand asks for a climb to 2000 ft ASAP to avoid the possibility of a head on.
I understand your concern, I share it as I also call YMMB home. Now I'm only a newbie myself but as I see it arriving ACFT *should* descend to 1000 by 3NM MB (unless ATC says otherwise) and as you are climbing out you should be well and truly above 1000 before leaving the CTRL Zone @ 3NM heading north, so the examiner is on the right track I'd say. Always good to climb as high as C LL for safety anyway.

Absolutely right about the regs, they can't teach you how to apply that knowledge to everyday situations. I find picking other more experienced pilots brains helps me (and drives them crazy). :D

flyforfun
27th Aug 2005, 11:53
Sunfish you said
"I know I am demonstrating my absolute lack of knowledge to a wide audience here, but I'm sick and tired of textbooks that don't give answers to simple questions and references to rules and regulations that are drafted in obscure legalese."

There is no one answer to lots of questions that aviation raises,
however, there is one thing that will get you safely through most of you concerns, AIRMANSHIP, oh and a little common sense helps as well.

If you are looking for someone to hold your hand through-out your flying life you are engaged in the wrong pass time. Being able to say " I am pilot in command of this aircraft" brings along with it the certain obligations, one of which, is the responsibility to make command decisions.

Sunfish
28th Aug 2005, 11:49
FlyingFF, I agree whole heartedly otherwise I wouldn't be there.