PDA

View Full Version : First solo nav

R22flyer
22nd Aug 2005, 20:58
Don't know if this is the right forum as I am new to this and just did my first solo nav. Felt strangely alone so just wondered what others experiences were like.

Gerhardt
22nd Aug 2005, 21:16
Congratulations! I recall my first (fixed-wing) cross-country solo not being fun at all. I was just relieved to be home. Of course, with the advent of GPS flying is so much more fun now.

Martin1234
22nd Aug 2005, 23:19
When I felt lost I just had a look at my phone and the cell id that was displayed, which usually was the village you were hovering above. :rolleyes:

g0lfer
23rd Aug 2005, 07:20
Well done - it's a great feeling isn't it. You will now feel as though you fly much better and you have the freedom to go solo whenever you want. Enjoy.

bladewashout
23rd Aug 2005, 08:49
My first solo nav was scattered clouds and more thermals than I'd ever had before. Combined with light weight, the sudden rises and falls in an R22 were quite daunting.

Spent most of the trip trying to remember what I'd forgotten all the time....

BW

RobboRider
23rd Aug 2005, 09:05
I can't really remember mine it was so easy. My instructor was newly arrived from out of town and didn't know the area, so picked a few towns on the map and said fly from here to there to there.

I had spent half my life driving round and round that country so I knew where every spot was in relation to others. (albiet from a different angle) I was able to fly around just confirming the numbers I got from the compass and watch etc fitted with where I was. and had been.

I do remember it was mostly just a joy flight. Didn't do me any harm as have flown thousands of miles round Oz on trips now and haven't got lost - .......yet!)

Martin1234
23rd Aug 2005, 09:06