PDA

View Full Version : Digital Camcorder

Green Bottle 2
21st Aug 2005, 10:02
I'm looking to invest in a digital camcorder that I can use to download movies to DVD/VCD. I do not need anything flash, just for home movies. I want to be able to connect it directly to my computer via USB or firewire ports.

Any advice on the good ones to buy and what media to go for would be greatly appreciated.

GB2

Buttino
21st Aug 2005, 10:08
Go for one that's uses Mini-DV which records in digital (it's a DAT tape) and make sure it's got at least a Firewire Out socket so you can download to a computer.

Having a Firewire In socket you can also record to the camera from a computer.

Some of the new Sony ones do record to directly to DVD but I've no experience of these.

Trev

Green Bottle 2
21st Aug 2005, 10:26
Many thanks for the advice. Thanks for the g-mail as well.

GB2

Conan the Librarian
21st Aug 2005, 11:26
I wasn't even looking for a mini DV but on emerging from Jessops last month but one, they had a special offer on a JVC GRD-70 for £199.95 which was far too big a bargain to leave on the shelf.

You will need a fairly reasonable PC and one with Firewire and a goodly amount of hard disk free, to get the best from a mini DV. Editing and authoring suites are a worthwhile add on and make the production of some sleep inducing family opus so much easier. I use Pinnacle Studio and there are some Google bargains there as well.

Mini DV is so much more enjoyable than older forms of camcorder and the chances of producing (and making copies of) reasonable productions are very much higher than in times gone by.

Conan

Conan

Taffer
22nd Aug 2005, 12:06
I believe Panasonic are now doing hard disc camcorders - in 20GB and 30GB memory capacities.

To put that in perspective, 30GB is good enough for about 35hrs of filming.

Should be enough for a home movie or two.

IO540
22nd Aug 2005, 22:02
It depends on how much of the data gets thrown away in compression.