PDA

View Full Version : QF A330 Emergency landing Kansai

bonvol
21st Aug 2005, 00:27
Just heard of this but not much else. Anyone have more details?

apacau
21st Aug 2005, 00:40
Not sure how trustworthy, but there is more info here

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,10117,16334664-421,00.html

tobzalp
21st Aug 2005, 00:42
The Ninemsn headline will be. 'Mid Air Terror as Qantas plane burns in Japan'. Mark my words.

OhForSure
21st Aug 2005, 00:46
Wonder why the tower spotted smoke but there was no visible signs of smoke or fire in the a/c???

Glad to hear all are ok.

Any 330/340 drivers care to comment on how many detectors are in the hold? Are they temperature variation meters or flame/smoke sensors??? What's the go?

The_Cutest_of_Borg
21st Aug 2005, 00:57
I have some small experience with the way Japanese authorities handle these sorts of events.

I hope QF and AIPA are right on to this one because the fact that people were injured during the evacuation may mean serious trouble for the operating crew.

Japanese police seem to need someone to blame any time someone gets hurt.

I hope I am wrong. On another note, can all the professional QF baiters please hold off for a respectable time please? I know you are all itching to get stuck in, but a little decorum please.

Calligula
21st Aug 2005, 01:10
No doubt all the 'professionals' who infest these forums (including some of the mods)
will be onto the capt's decision and will soon be telling evryone what a clown he is

HIALS
21st Aug 2005, 01:34
For what it's worth (and don't know if its relevant to this incident) - Airbus have a big problem, worldwide, with their smoke detectors.

I had a fault with my SDCU (Smoke Detection Control Unit) recently. While the engineers were changing it they commented that Airbus have a global taskforce out trying to retrofit new and improved smoke detectors in all aircraft.

He indicated the new units would have internal heating to avoid condensation triggering false warnings.