PDA

View Full Version : Aviation... hardest 'transistion' industry!?!?!

DB777
5th Jul 2005, 11:51
Hello all.

I am an aviation enthusiast. I longed to be a pilot for years, until last year my eyesignt was deemed to bad. This, after visiting many open days for flight schools and even working out how i'd fund 50k to do it!!!

I am a graphic design by trade, and really have only used it to fund living for the last 4/5 years.

I have an overwhelming desire to find my first position in the aviation industry. I love aircraft and would love to work on them, with them or just near them!!!!

I have looked into many different roles, desigining liveries, admin @ leasing agencies, written to cargo carriers @ stn/ltn and cabin crew.
Now, i'm at a loss.

At 26 I need something that, while gaining experience I can earn a 'mortgage paying salary!'.

Pretty vague resqeust - but can anyone shed a guiding light!?!?!

Dan

zedex7rrrrrrr
5th Jul 2005, 13:21
What about Air Traffic Control? They pay well, have lots of perks. I think it's tough to get into but if you can, maybe worth a thought?

DB777
5th Jul 2005, 13:27
zx7r,

Yeah, have thought of that, actually saw a semi-tempting training course locally as well. Prob is i've spent the last 10 years behind a computer screen so fancy a change.

I'm kind of interested in cabin crew, although slaries seem to start really low and many elements are need to boost it up to a 'livable' level.

If anyone knows info on the day-to-day lifestyle of say a euro routing or lo-cost cabin crew member, i'd be intersted to hear. Are the shifts in hours? In routes? Many overnights? Based at a sole airport? etc etc.

Dan

rapg1000
5th Jul 2005, 15:12
Maybe dont give up on the pilot idea so easily.... If your eyesight is just out of limits ie more than +/- 5 hoojemeflips, but is less than +/-8 hoojemeflips, have you thought about getting a CPL / ATPL overseas and then converting it back here???