PDA

View Full Version : Autorotation Question

Go Smoke
13th Jun 2005, 10:24
Hi I'm a fixed wing pilot with a question.

Assuming 2000' QFE what sort of size radial distance does one have, if you have suffered engine/gearbox, whatever, failure and have to autorotate in R44 or similar, to select a landing area?

Assume nil wind too.

Hope that makes sense - I was thinking about single engined operations over large cities.

I'm sure there are many variables and I just wanted a ballpark idea really.

Many thanks for any help.

GS.

SASless
13th Jun 2005, 11:01
By QFE....one assumes you mean AGL? The beauty of the helicopter is the very small size of the area needed to land in...thus from 2000 feet above the ground....that allows a lot of choices.

Cannot help you on glide distance for an R-44.

Go Smoke
13th Jun 2005, 11:28
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes I meant AGL.

I wasn't specifically interested in R44 it was just the first 'large', singled engined, common helicopter I thought of.

Please bear in mind that I know very little, if anything, about heli's.

Cheers,

GS.

Grainger
13th Jun 2005, 11:41
Depending on weight etc., you'll go down at between 1500 to 1800 fpm in autorotation in an R44.

Airspeed for maximum range auto is 90kts. So from 2000ft agl, you'd have an autorotation range of about 1.5nm in the event of engine failure - enough to give you plenty of choices in most situations.

For single engined ops over built-up areas, the requirement for a heli is to "land safely" in the event of engine failure (as opposed to "land clear") - plus of course you still have to comply with the 1000ft rule [recently changed from 1500ft].

You mentioned gearbox failure too: sadly, that's likely to be rather more terminal - however many engines you have !

Go Smoke
13th Jun 2005, 13:18
Thanks for that info Grainger, much appreciated.

GS

autosync
13th Jun 2005, 22:33