PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone writing a Novel?

Loose rivets
22nd May 2005, 07:23
Is anyone writing a Novel?

As an aspiring writer, I'd be interested to know if there were others on the forum with similar dreams.

I started a book about thirty years ago–just for fun–but gradually formed the opinion that it was a good tale and aimed for a higher quality of writing. Then I did it again...and again.

I'm now several hundred thousand words into my magnum incrediblus, and have a tale so complex and wondrous, that it will be impossible to finish before I pop my clogs.

It seems that I have the imagination, but not the discipline needed for sheer hard work. Perhaps contact with like folk, will spur me into finishing a best seller.:8

Wingswinger
22nd May 2005, 07:33
I've had a go as well. My problem - passingly good wordsmith but no imagination!

RiskyRossco
22nd May 2005, 08:09
Bonsoir á tous.

Did come upon me some 5 yr ago to take a historical theme and transpose a plot, setting it in more contemporary cataclysmic times.
Essentially the story is a 'remake' of a classic tale, so direction and sub-plots aren't the hassle. Central character, again no prob. Some supporting cast need more colour and development, accuracy of historical detail ditto.
Only thing remaining - carving out time and solitude to complete it.

From the first thoughts on opening and scenes I've been mashing around notes, considering chapter length, breaks, mood, character importance, segue, relevance of this or that country/culture.
What, essentially, is the direction of my train-of-thought? Only this, when the story refuses to lay down, when you're drawn back to that little voice at the back of your scone saying, "I'm here still. . . when we gonna start. . ?" then get down and DO it.
:D The rest will follow. Nothing great ever comes easy. When we put our dreams out for public purview we risk their loss but never risking is being chained by our attitudes. Those who don't risk never live.