PDA

View Full Version : Morning Interception

moomin
17th May 2005, 14:25
Anyone hear of an interception on 121.5 this morning at about 0800UTC? We were in the cruise over Manchester at the time. Could only here the Tornado F3 challenging the aircraft in question and unfortunately missed the callsign.:confused:

Dash-7 lover
17th May 2005, 16:10
Don't think anyone would own up to that with Journo's around, assuming it was a civil airliner/loss of comms issue?

timmyneedham
17th May 2005, 16:31
You really need to get over this predisposition that all journalists are pariahs who surf the pages of PPrune looking for 'seconds from death' story ideas.

I am an experienced TV news producer and I have been a Prooner for quite a while. I only ever read and contribute from home, and if you knew anything about news, you would know that we are constantly as busy as hell and don't have time to read Pprune even if we wanted to.

Apart from which, most of the time when anything happens, it arrives on these pages as a weblink to one of the news websites.

Also, I see Pprune as a network of people sharing a common interest in aviation and it would be disrespectful to publish the private views and opinions of other forum members.

TN

FakePilot
17th May 2005, 16:37
When I see journos own up to their misreporting I'll relax my stance. Until then, I'll be damned if I tell a journo anything. That way they'll only misquote me half of the time.

Let me translate that to journonese:

"World Famous Pilot praises News Media!!!!"

Chuffer Chadley
17th May 2005, 16:46
TN

It is, indeed, unfortunate that journalists are perceived as pariahs. Unfortunately, this is in fact an entirely reasonable conception. Pretty much every 'news' story involving aircraft contains inaccuracies that belie any idea that journalists are noble professionals seeking the truth. There are far too many examples of incorrect aircraft types and over-dramatisations on the telly and in the press weekly.