PDA

View Full Version : What to include in follow-up covering letters?

speedy688
9th May 2005, 21:37
I am planning on sending my CV again to a few companies that I mailed not so long back. Just wondering what content I should include in the covering letter as I didn't want to just reel off the original covering letter that I sent. What points should I cover? I presume it will be much shorter than the original full page I sent?

Any constructive advice welcome.

Thanks.

Jinkster
10th May 2005, 14:26
I presume it will be much shorter than the original full page I sent?

Sorry to say this and I stand to be corrected as I'm new to this game myself but perhaps the reader is still asleep from the last one you sent!

:)

Floppy Link
10th May 2005, 15:44
How about the following, make it sound as if you have a valid reason for writing, even though we all know it's just to keep the cv towards the top of the pile...

Please find enclosed an updated cv which I would be grateful if you would hold on your files for any future pilot vacancies.

The updates reflect the following:

Total hours now 1500
Completion of MCC course
Renewal of multi engine IR
Addition of FI rating (gyroplanes)

etc etc

I remain comitted to a career as a pilot and whiteknuckle Airlines remains my number one choice, especially if offered a base at my local airport.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Yours etc

This sort of thing worked for me 10 years ago, 9 years ago, 7 years ago and last month.

(And now I'm off, because this forum is not for experienced pilots:hmm: )

p.s. I'm leaving the airlines soon, somebody will take my 757 seat, somebody will take their Jetstream41 seat, etc etc.
If you get a job do I get a beer? :ok:

Good luck all...

scroggs
11th May 2005, 17:54
Only send a CV update if you've actually got something to update, not just because you feel a further letter might produce something the first didn't.